Depression’s Cloak

It surrounds me all the time. When I am doing something I enjoy or when I spend time with a good friend, it loosens its hold on me. Yet, when I feel stressed by working in a dead-end job, or when a person I care about begins to shut me out, it can often suffocate me. The suffocation then seeps into my mind. Ideals and aspirations need to fight harder to comfort me, and sometimes I can only think of one thing as sadness coats my brain and sends it into a hopeless rage. How to die poetically.

My heart wants to live, but the cloak sometimes prevents it from seeing all that the future holds for me.

Depression’s cloak will not trap me without a fight. Unfortunately, this fight has become very difficult.

Leave a Reply

